A Day in the Life of a Media Student

So I’ve been trying to think of new ways that I can show case Glasgow as being a great student hub and it came to me – what better way to show you Glasgow student life than through my own daily experience?

Don’t get me wrong, not EVERY day is like this. In fact, a large amount (more than I’d like to admit) consist of me cocooned in bed, hiding from my ever-growing list of responsibilities.

So lets get started.

9:00am

Groggy. It’s time to get up after a slight ‘heavy’ night, you could say. I do the usual – shower, brush teeth, make self mildly presentable to the public etc.

After that I check emails and the various social medias I partake in, over breakfast.

10:00am

Having managed to have squeezed that all into an hour – I feel like being a student definitely improves your ability to do tasks in a short space of time – I go meet another student to do some filming for an assignment.

If you’re a camera geek like me, then you’ll understand why I find this kind of thing so fun. Despite the fact the camera and tripod probably weigh more than I do. Having only an hour we manage to get some shots around university of the gym and upload the footage.

I’d already filmed an interview at the Kelvingrove Museum so I got the chance to quickly do a little editing before heading off to a lecture.


11:00am

Not going to go into great detail about a lecture because I’m sure you won’t find … that interesting. Particularly if you’re not a media student.

Anyway moving on!

1:00pm

Lunch – aka the best time of day.

I thought I’d visit one of my favourite places to grab lunch because it’s so close – Pret A Manger.

This isn’t going to turn into a review blog, but I highly recommend giving this place a chance if you haven’t tried it already – there are plenty around Glasgow.

3:00pm

Okay so after that I basically spend the next hour essay writing – yay. Or should I say, writing the title and staring aimlessly at my screen. After that I head to my seminar – last uni obligation of the day!

Screen Shot 2016-04-01 at 13.42.36

Own Image – Screenshot

By this point I’ll admit, I am feeling quite proud of myself – for someone who only likes leaving her room at around 12pm, this has been a pretty productive morning.

5:00pm

F R E E D O M.

Now that I am free from the constraints of my responsibilities (I wish) I head to the cinema – making use of my BAFTA membership with free movie tickets to see Allegiant. What I love about the cinema in Glasgow is the size – It is huge. ( along with the prices…)

8:00pm

After all that excitement, and a lot of ‘motivation’ from my flat mates, I actually go to the gym – yes. The gym.

I know to many people, a 40 minute work out is nothing but to some one who hasn’t been able to motivate themselves to go for the past 3 months, it worked.

9:00pm

I’d just like to reiterate – this is a slightly out of the normal day for me, I’m usually a lot less active.

Anyway, by this point I am very much ready to hibernate for the next few days… but the show must go on!

You can’t not go out on a Friday night, right?

IMG_2125
Own Image – TGI’s

Leave a comment